Re-booting for the new year

by

Apologies for disappearing for over a month now – inexcusable, especially given I can make no claims whatsoever about a large readership. But grading and other end-of-semester craziness, a vacation, and a brutal January 3 start to the winter semester has kept me busy.

That said, I have bookmarked a number of interesting stories in the south asian-mediascape and will get to them over the next few days. I have also spent a lot of time browsing through The Hindu from 1953 onwards in an attempt to map relationships between the film industry and radio in post-independence India, so expect a post or two with some terrific images from the early 1950s. This preliminary look at film-radio connections will be part of a paper I will be presenting at the Cinema South Asia conference to be held at UPenn this coming weekend (line up here) – more on this tomorrow.

But I wanted to kick things off with a bit of self-promotion – my first book, a co-edited anthology of essays on Bollywood, will be out this August from NYU Press!

global_bw_cover.jpg

I’ve spent a good week of the past month poring over the copyedited manuscript, and I have to say it is exciting but also nerve-wracking to think about how the book will be received (and maybe even reviewed). And of course, it is quite the thrill to see the book listed on Amazon (link)!

p.s. I’m not sure I dig the cover, but I’ve heard from a couple of people who thought it was ok.

11 Responses to “Re-booting for the new year”

  1. amrita Says:

    Congratulations A1 !!!

    Cover is meh … why do these academic publishing groups insist on bringing out such underwhelming cover designs?

  2. sitaji Says:

    Looks like an interesting book. Congratulations!

  3. aswinp Says:

    Thanks, amrita and sitaji!

  4. Harsha Says:

    hey

    i need an autographed copy. you want me to email ya my address?

    –h

  5. Beth Says:

    Fabulous! You know, last summer several of us bloggers did an email interview with Anupama Chopra before King of Bollywood came out…could I tempt you similarly? :)

  6. Jonathan Gray Says:

    cover looks fine — orange is a cool colour these days. congrats

  7. aswinp Says:

    Beth – thanks, and that’s too tempting to refuse! Perhaps sometime early in August?

  8. Beth Says:

    Super! Keep me posted…we’ll get a good crew lined up.

  9. swatiji Says:

    I agree with amritaji. Maybe the SABs could design a cover for our own use. We could also use the crate and barrel bollywood cusions as props. Other than that, the book is very exciting A1. All the best.

  10. Simi Says:

    Looking forward to reading this one! Congrats Aswin. I “met” Anandam by the way when interviewing him for his new book, Children of Shahida.

  11. Simi Says:

    I’ll definitely be looking forward to interviewing the two of you and reviewing the book as well. Talk with you soon.

    Simi

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

